Masterworks V: The Fauré Requiem - The Echo

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Masterworks V: The Fauré Requiem

March 3 @ 2:00 pm

Sarah Shafer and Quad City native Nathaniel Sullivan join us in presenting beloved works by Johann Sebastian Bach and Gabriel Fauré. QCSO Principal Trumpet Matthew Baker joins Shafer for the Aria “Rejoice unto God in All Lands!,” followed by Principal Cello Hannah Holman performing the iconic Prelude from the First Cello Suite. Feel the yearning of the famous “Air on a G-String” from Bach’s Third Orchestral Suite before the Augustana Oratorio Society & Choral Artists join the ensemble and soloists for selections from the St. Matthew Passion. The first half closes with the virtuosic flourishes of Bach’s Second Brandenburg Concerto. Experience the peaceful serenity of life after death in Fauré’s soaring Requiem. Composed after the loss of his parents, Fauré balances profound sorrow and longing with light, hope, and the exultation of heaven.PROGRAMJOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Brandenburg Concerto No.3, BWV 1048, G major [10’]JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Prelude from the First Cello Suite [3’]JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Suite (Overture) No.3, BWV 1068, II. Air [5’]JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH St. Matthew Passion [16’]No. 48 Recit: Er hat uns allen wohlgetanNo. 49 Aria: Aus Liebe will mein Heiland sterbenNo. 54 Chorale: O Haupt voll Blut und WundenNo. 65 Aria: Mache dich, mein Herze, reinJOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH TBA, Prelude and Fugue from The Well-Tempered ClavierJOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH B minor Mass, No. 27 Dona nobis pacem [3′]GABRIEL FAURÉ Requiem, op.48 [36’]FEATURINGMark Russell Smith, conductorSarah Shafer, sopranoMatt Baker, trumpetHannah Holman, celloNathaniel Sullivan, baritoneAugustana Oratorio Society & Choral Artists, Jon Hurty, director See less


March 3
2:00 pm


Quad City Symphony Orchestra
View Organizer Website

Pin It on Pinterest

[vidbg container="body" mp4="/wp-content/uploads/videos/fastacid.mp4" webm="#"]